Foster The People- Pumped Up Kicks

Lately I’ve been on a ‘stroll through Hollister’ music kick it seems like.  Here’s another video to add to the kick.  Pumped Up Kicks is the first song I’ve heard from Foster the People.

‘Pumped Up Kicks’ is about a kid that basically is losing his mind and is plotting revenge. He’s an outcast. I feel like the youth in our culture are becoming more and more isolated. It’s kind of an epidemic. Instead of writing about victims and some tragedy, I wanted to get into the killer’s mind, like Truman Capote did in ‘In Cold Blood.’ I love to write about characters. That’s my style. I really like to get inside the heads of other people and try to walk in their shoes.
-Mark Foster (Foster the People lead singer)

Pretty deep and dark lyrics for such a mellow sounding song.  To visit the official website of Foster the People click HERE.

Leave a Reply

